Meditationes Vitæ Christi


By Neil Thornock. Music for organ solo.


This set of twelve pieces includes meditations inspired both by the beginning and ending of the account of Christ’s life on earth and also by a selection of those mysterious statements or events that expressed ideas of the divinity of Christ.

In principio erat Verbum
In the beginning was the Word (John 1:1)

Pariet autem filium
And she shall bring forth a son (Matthew 1:21)

Tunc venit Jesus a Galilæa in Jordanem ad Joannem
Then cometh Jesus from Galilee to Jordan unto John (Matthew 3:13)

Tunc Jesus ductus est in desertum a Spiritu
Then was Jesus led up of the Spirit into the wilderness (Matthew 4:1)

Ego sum panis vitæ
I am the bread of life (John 6:35)

Et resplenduit facies ejus sicut sol
And his face did shine as the sun (Matthew 17:2)

Filius autem hominis non habet ubi caput reclinet
But the Son of man hath not where to lay his head (Luke 9:58)

Antequam Abraham fieret, ego sum
Before Abraham was, I am (John 8:58)

Et factus est sudor ejus sicut guttæ sanguinis decurrentis in terram
And his sweat was as great drops of blood falling to the ground (Luke 22:44)

Eli, Eli, lamma sabacthani?
Lord, Lord, why have you forsaken me? (Matthew 27:46)

Quid quæritis viventem cum mortuis?
Why seek ye the living among the dead (Luke 24:5)

Ferebatur in cælum
[He was] carried up into heaven (Luke 24:51)

You may also like…